NALSAR University of Law Research Methodology Workshop for Doctoral Students

Program Schedule (August 16 to 29, 2018)

	Date	Forenoon Session 10 to 11:30 AM & 12:00 to 1:30 PM	Afternoon Session 2:30 pm to 5:00 pm	Evening session 5: 30 pm to 6: 30 pm
		(11:30 to 12:00 Noon - Tea Break)	(5:00 – 5:30 PM – Tea Break)	
Day – 1	16/08/2018 Thursday	Prof. Susie Tharu (What is research methodology?)	Sharing of Research Proposals by the candidates and conversations with research supervisors	
		Prof. Gopal Guru (Public Lecture on Caste, Communalism and Law) Venue: SAARC Law Centre	Prof. Faizan Mustafa; Prof. Dhanda; Prof. Vasanthi; Dr. Kannan; Dr. Neha; Dr. Vaageshan; Prof. Shafi; Dr. Murali; Dr. Manohar	
Day – 2	17/08/2018 Friday	Prof. Dhanda (Positivism in Law) Dr. Kannan (Positivism in Social Sciences)	Prof. Vasanthi (Ways of Reading) Film screening: Ways of Seeing by John Berger	Dr. Uma Chimirala (From Societal Problems to Research problems) Mr. Sunil Gregory (progress report)
Day - 3	18/08/2018 Saturday	Prof. Dhanda (Realism in Law: Meaning, Potential, Scope and Limitations) Dr. Kannan (Positivism and Empiricism in Research)	Dr. Anup Surendranath, Dr. Adithya Chintapanti & Dr. Rajeev Kadambi (Panel Discussion on Legal Research) Moderator: Prof. Dhanda	Dr. Manohar (Film screening and discussion) Film: Namette

		Rajeev Kadambi		
		(Scholar as a Spiritual Aspirant)		
		Prof. Dhanda		
D	19/08/2018	(Critical Legal Studies)		
Day – 4	Sunday	Prof. Vasanthi		
		(Feminist Method)		
		Dr. Manohar	Anindita Mukherjee	
		(Meaning and interpretation of texts)	(Accessing internet	Mr. Ajay Singh Chauhan
			resources)	(Progress report)
D	20/08/2018	Respondents: Prof. Dhanda; Prof.	(2:30 – 3:30 PM)	
Day – 5	Monday	Vasanthi	+	Mr. G. Srikanth
			Assignment	(Progress report)
			Anindita Mukherjee	Ms. Debarati Pal
		Dr. Kannan	(Accessing internet	(Progress report)
Day – 6	21/08/2018	(Law and Society)	resources)	
	Tuesday		(2:30 – 3:30 PM)	Mr. Sanjay Shenoi
		Respondent:	+	(Progress report)
		Prof. Dhanda	Assignment	Via. SKYPE
			Anindita Mukherjee	
		Dr. Janardhan (UoH)	(Reference management)	
		(1. On Formulating a Research	(2:30 – 3:30 PM)	Prof. Vasanthi & Dr. Neha
Day – 7	22/08/2018	Problem; 2. On Gathering		
	Wednesday	Data)	Prof. Dhanda & Dr. Neha	(Follow-up of the morning session)
			(Film screening and	(1 1 up of the mental g seconds)
		Respondent: Prof. Vasanthi	discussion/note making)	
			Film: Paromita Vohra's	
			Partners in Crime	

Day – 8	23/08/2018 Thursday	Dr. Pathakji (Legal Theory in Research) Dr. Murali Karnam (Legal Theory and Political Theory)	Anindita Mukherjee (Reference management) (2:30 – 3:30 PM) Dr. Vaageshan (Research Methods in the Studies of Political Participation)	Mr. Pemmaraju Ramalingeswara Prakash (progress report)
Day – 9	24/08/2018 Friday	Prof. Purendra Prasad (UoH) (Qualitative Research: Methodological Challenges) Prof. Thirumal (UoH) (Hermeneutics)	Dr. Vaageshaan (Evidence-based Social Sciences Research) Prof. Dhanda &Dr.Neha (Supervisor-student interaction: Conversation between Prof. Upendra Baxi and Prof. Dhanda - Video.)	Ms. Bhumika (Progress report) Ms. Ritika Kishore (Progress report)
Day – 10	25/08/2018 Saturday	Dr. Manohar (Language, Culture and Representation) Prof. Dhanda; Prof. Vasanthi (Intradisciplinarity)	Dr. Rekha Pappu (TISS) (1. Right to Education and Law; 2. Reflections on a completed research project)	Report on meeting with supervisors Mr. Jacob (Progress report) Ujwala (Progress report)
Day – 11	26/08/2018 Sunday	Dr. Usha Ramanathan (Researching law and poverty)		

Day – 12	27/08/2018 Monday	Dr. Anant Maringanti (HUL) (Research at Hyderabad Urban Lab) Dr. Manohar (Governmentality)	Dr. Murali Karnam (Research on Criminal Justice system)	Mr. Anil Kumar Choudhary (Progress report) Mr. Sandeep Parekh (Progress report)
Day – 13	28/08/2018 Tuesday	(Dr. Mahendra Shukla) Quantitative Research Methods	Dr. N. Manohar (Authorship)	
Day – 14	29/08/2018 Wednesday	Final Presentations		

<u>List of students attended the Research Methodology Classes of 2018</u>

SI. No.	Roll No.	Name of the student
1	2018-01	Mr. Ashish Kapoor
2	2018-02	MS. Astha Saxena
3	2018-03	Mr. Kamal Kirti
4	2018-04	Mr. PVSD Gopala Krishna Murthy
5	2018-05	Mr. Shankar Narayan
6	2018-07	Mr. Rahul
7	2018-08	Mr. Sudhanshu Pathania